Top Ten Tuesday v 11 – Ten Books For Readers Who Like Classics

890bc-toptentuesday2Tuesday again and time for a new list challenge from The Broke and the Bookish . This week we each get to decide what kind of books to put in our Top Ten, and I choose:

Ten Books For Readers Who Like _________ Classics

1. David Copperfield by Charles Dickens – don’t let the amount of pages scare you off, most of it is pure gold.

2. Les Misérables by Victor Hugo – absolutely loved this when I read it, but some parts can be excluded as they are more like novellas on different subjects, which although interesting and well written has nothing to do with the main storyline.

3. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen – probably my favourite book of all time and the book I’ve read the most times (not included childrens books).

4. The Sign of the Four by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle – I love all Sherlock Holmes but I think this is my absolute favourite.

5. Hamlet by William Shakespeare – am a big fan of the bard but this is my all time favourite play by him. I could never get enough and it’s as good a read as it is to see performed.

6. Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë – this haunting tale stays with you for a long long time after you’ve put the book down.

7. Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë – also a tale that will stay with you but in a different way from Emily’s book.

8. The Call of the Wild by Jack London – went through a London period when I was younger when I read a lot of his books and this one is the one that still stands out the most.

9. Ivanhoe by Sir Walter Scott – love this story and have read it quite a few times, not as many as I’ve seen the film though.

10. Anna Karenina by Lev Tolstoy – to be honest I’m a bit of two minds in regards to putting this here. For one it’s way too long, even the characters in it questions the merit of some things, and I really really don’t like Anna. But, aside from that it’s a great story, and I am really glad that I’ve read it so I would still recommend you to give it a try.

 

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday v 11 – Ten Books For Readers Who Like Classics

  1. Jag gillar verkligen att läsa klassiker, gillar att blanda min läsning. En del här har jag läst och verkligen gillat. Och en del står fortfarande olästa i bokhyllan 🙂

  2. Någon gång i livet skulle jag vilja läsa Förnuft och känsla, Wuthering heights och Jane Erye. Har endast läst The great Gatsby och påbörjade Emma, men jag tycker verkligen inte om henne som karaktär, hon gjorde mig galen så jag läste aldrig ut boken. Du nämner många klassiker som är okända för mig, får kolla upp dem lite närmre.

Kommentera

